Skip to content

Think of the Teens!

July 15, 2014

I had lunch today with an old friend and we were talking about generating more business. I found myself extolling the virtues of LinkedIn, the Chamber, this network group, that network group, business after hours events, early morning meetings and more.

“Its all about getting out where no one else is,” I noted in a less than profound observation.

“You’re right but when do I spend time with the kids?” she replied.

Oh those pesky kids! And teenagers at that! My animals grew up a long time ago and do fine with no intervention from me, but that wasn’t always the case. One day my wife came home early and discovered my 14 year old watching an over the top video on MTV. The next day I came home and the daughter asks,

“Dad is there something wrong with the TV?”

“Well, why do you ask?,” I said grinning.

“Because MTV won’t come on!” she replied with a sad look on her face.

“Oh, its not broken, we had it turned off!” I said laughing.  (She was one mad teenager!)

In my current place of employment we have lots of younger staff with babies and young children. We do many things to accommodate that population. I guess I had not been around teens for such a long time that I forgot how much time and life force they can suck out of you.

When they are teens, we assume they will go home, play video games and eat without supervision. Unfortunately, the Centers for Disease Control and other researchers have established that major shenanigans go on after school, including reproduction, too much internet and drug use.

As employers we ought to consider the needs of parents with teens when looking at schedules and workloads. The next generation needs quality time whether they know it or not and they’ll be paying my social security some day!

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

